Joy Dare :: 3 Gifts From Your Saviour

This Joy Dare has had me pretty well stumped. When we think of the gifts given by our Saviour, we realize of that course every good and perfect gift comes from Him, our abilities to recognize, and our affinity to enjoy those gifts is God breathed into us and then it becomes hard to name just three. 

The first thing I thought of were my children. I watched them play around the Christmas tree last night and even took pictures of them, (which our decrepit, greedy computer then completely destroyed.)  But watching the little rascals got me thinking, and I kind of switched gears.

These are three gifts I am loving to contemplate.

I am thankful for imagination. We surely could have survived this life without imagination, but just think how dull it might have been!  Our Creator lovingly formed us to reflect Himself, I think we can be pretty certain that our God is an imaginative God.

How I love to see our children testing, developing, exercising this amazing gift in their play, and we already see them applying this gift to all that they know. The world is a wide, startling and amazingly beautiful place given them by the God who has so much more in store for their souls. They see that God might have created anything, but the wild goodness of possibility is what He imagined, and their tender little hearts are filled with love and awe.

Which makes me think of the second gift of the Saviour which I am thankful for tonight, and that is Life. Because it is so fascinatingly wild and interesting, and because it is the foretaste of all the Life that is ahead of us in this eternity which we have already begun. The girls have been memorizing Longfellow’s Psalm of life, and I often think of those lines:

TELL me not, in mournful numbers,
  Life is but an empty dream!—
For the soul is dead that slumbers,
  And things are not what they seem.
 
Life is real! Life is earnest!
  And the grave is not its goal;
Dust thou art, to dust returnest,
  Was not spoken of the soul.

As I continued to watch the children play around the Christmas tree, I absentmindedly began snapping pictures of the twinkling lights. I thought of how many times we are reminded that God gave us Himself as Light. How He is Light, with no room for darkness. I am thankful there is no darkness in Him at all and that he has given us the ability to know the difference between what is darkness and what is Light and to choose the Light. It is amazing that He also gives us the task of reflecting that Light into the darkness, imperfect mirrors that we are.

Imagination, Life and Light make me think of this:

Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.

I am most thankful for what He is.

One thought on “Joy Dare :: 3 Gifts From Your Saviour

Leave a Reply

