Meredith

Photobucket

She showed up here yesterday evening and took up residence on, under or near our front porch. If you know me very well, you know that I hate cats. It turns out that I actually hate mice even more – which is something I only recently learned about myself.

Meredith was fished out from under our porch by our children last night, with the help their friend and of their aunt and uncle. The kids were SO thrilled to have a cat, and I am so disgusted by the thriving mouse population, that I figured an outdoor cat couldn’t be all bad at this point. Besides, it will probably move on to more loving (or maybe less physically affectionate) pastures, sooner or later.

“We have a CAT now!!!”

“It’s part kitten!”

“Mama said we can keep it till it dies on the highway!”

“I can’t believe Mama and Papa are going to let us own a CAT!”

Photobucket

I may or may not have named it Meredith after Meredith Palmer. It just works for a cat, right?

Photobucket
Photo credit – google images

PS – if your name happens to be Meredith, please forgive me. I think it’s a lovely name!

PS 2 – I am thinking that I should make a category for things I don’t exactly like, now. Hmmm…

5 thoughts on “Meredith

  1. Great quotes from the kids!
    I like Meredith’s eyes (unlike Meredith Palmer’s)-they are so gentle. And having a mouser is a good deal!
    As you know, I’m not a cat lover either but I do have fond memories of our cat Sheba who was sweet with my little siblings and kept our mouse population under control. 😉

  2. Ha ha, awesome. I love cats. It’s just how cats act INSIDE that I don’t like. Gross. I kind of wish we’d get adopted by an outside cat, but slim chance of that.

  3. I was wondering how you came up with that name!!! I love it!! I too share your hatred of cats, but our outside cat has served us well in keeping the mice away, so he can stay for now! I’m glad your kids are happy that she can stay until she dies on the highway! 🙂

Leave a Reply

