bedtime story

The setting:  Dan is quietly reading The Spider and the Fly to Kinsley. Sophie is busily arranging things in preparation for sleep, and Truxton is snoozing in his play pen.

I look across the dresser at the three of them laying in bed.  I see a basket full of sweet smelling, line dried diapers.  I see the two cups of coffee that Dan and I are sharing.  I see the soft glow of the bedside lamp as it twinkles  through the thick glass of a vintage canning jar.  The canning jar contains a peony which I picked from a bush at my parents house.  Beside the peony is a chubby round bottle containing three little pink roses presented to me by my sweet little daughters with the help of their wonderful Papa.

Everything is peaceful and perfect, and I am thrilled to be with my family.

Leave a Reply

