Sally Lunn Bread

Photobucket

Having been motivated by Rachel and her recent baking binge, I spent quite a bit of time in the kitchen yesterday. Actually, I was also trying to avoid my regular housework…

So instead of doing laundry, I made Biscochitos. Instead of cleaning the toilet, I made Almond Coffee Cake. Instead of mopping the floors, I made Honey Wheat Bread. After that, since I didn’t feel like cleaning up all that baking mess, I also made Sally Lunn Bread (photo above, recipe below). This was a first for me, and we’ve really enjoyed it so far – the loaf was beautiful and the bread has a wonderful texture and the perfect crust. This is certainly something I’d make again.

Sally Lunn Bread (from my Southern Sideboards cookbook)

1 package dry yest
1/4 cup lukewarm water
1 teaspoon sugar
6 Tablespoons butter
6 Tablespoons lard or shortening (I used shortening, since I had just used my lard in the biscochitos)
1 cup milk
4 cups flour
1/3 cup sugar
2 teaspoons salt
4 eggs
melted butter

Dissolve yeast in warm water; add sugar and set aside. Warm butter, shortening and milk until all is melted; then let stand until lukewarm. Sift together flour, sugar and salt. Beat eggs thoroughly and combine with milk and yeast mixtures. Beat well. Add flour and beat well.

Set bowl in pan of hot water to rise. Leave a wooden spoon in the batter and cover with a towel. Every 20 minutes, beat dough down; then put back in the pan of hot water, cover with towel and let rise again. It will rise after every beating. Do this at least 3 hours. (The wonderful texture is achieved by this beating.)

After last beating, put dough in a well-greased bundt pan, cover with towel and let rise again (about 1 1/2 hours).

Bake at 325* for 45-60 minutes. Baste with melted butter during the last ten minutes of baking.

Freezes beautifully when wrapped in foil. Remove from freezer 1 hour before serving; heat in 350* oven for 20-30 minutes in the foil. Serves 15.

One thought on “Sally Lunn Bread

  1. Guess who’s inspired now?!? ME!! That’s quite a spread. I’ve never heard of Biscochitos! Can’t wait to try it out. 🙂 I’m already making plans for my next Monday Baking Day, and I just might have to add your recipe for Sally Lunn Bread. 🙂

Leave a Reply

