Bokeh

Photobucket

I recently learned that I have been obsessed with something before I ever knew it existed, That is, if you can know that you are obsessed with something even if you aren’t even aware of the real existence of the object of your obsession? I don’t know if that makes any sense, so I’ll stop the commentary.

Photobucket

Bokeh (from the Japanese boke ボケ, “blur”) is a photographic term referring to the appearance of out-of-focus areas in an image produced by a camera lens. It is pronounced (Boke-aay)”

Read more on Bokeh from Wikipedia
.

Photobucket

I recently learned this term from Miz Booshay, who was guest blogging over at the Pioneer Woman’s Photography Blog. Somehow, learning that there is a term for “that nice, blurry background” which I love so much, was exciting to me (I’m fairly easy to please).

Photobucket

While I have a lot to learn before I can grasp the technical side of Bokeh, I am content to know that the idea exists, and have begun to notice it more in my photos. I find that I get much more pleasing bokeh when I use my 50mm f1.8 than when I use my 18-200mm 1:3.5-6.3, which I think makes sense.

Photobucket

Would it be possible to see these photos and not notice the pleasing, twinkly background?

Photobucket

One thought on “Bokeh

Leave a Reply

