At the park with Grandma

Yesterday, my grandma called to invite the girls to come over and play with her at the park. Bubbles were mentioned. And duck feeding. We went, of course.

Photobucket

Grandma has always been my special buddy, and I love seeing her carry on this tradition with my girls. Grandma is THE reason I sew. She taught me everything I know in this field. As a little girl, I thought Grandma could sew anything. Once, when I stayed at her house for a day or two, I wanted to go swimming, but I had left my swim suit at home. Many Grandmas would purchase a swimsuit for their granddaughters. Most would simply refuse to indulge. My Grandma simply took me downtown to the little fabric shop, allowed me to choose some Lycra fabric (mine had tropical fruit), drove us back home, whipped up a swim suit (complete with ruffles and all) and had me to the pool by the time it opened. After that, I knew she could sew anything.

Anyway, she’s as self sacrificing as ever. And my girls love her dearly.

Photobucket

When we got to Grandma’s house, she had already prepared the bread for the ducks, torn into small chunks and divided into two bags, one for each girl.

Sophie mostly ate hers.

Photobucket

Occasionally she launched a piece or two at a duck. The ducks weren’t all that hungry.

Photobucket

Kinsley tried pretty hard, in her own dreamy way.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Then once the bubble blowing began, the ducks were all but forgotten.

Photobucket

Except not by me. This is the very park where I came with Grandma when I was a little girl. This is the park where the city pool used to be. And this – this may well be the self same duck, that chased and bit me when I was a kid. I kept a close eye on him. Look at that evil glare. I think he’s onto me.

Photobucket

I was the only one concerned about it, too.

Photobucket

See that greedy “gimme” stance? That’s cause Grandma even thought to bring pretzels and apple juice.

Photobucket

The mere thought of food gets Sophie’s tongue working.

Photobucket

Photobucket

So, this is Grandma. I don’t think she’s changed a bit since I was two. That thrilled smile she gets when she watches the girls? She used to get that over me. That’s the way I’ll always remember her, even though you’ll never see that smile in any professional photo of Grandma.

Photobucket

One thought on “At the park with Grandma

Leave a Reply

