Friday’s Feast

Photobucket

Appetizer
What is your middle name? Would you change any of your names if you could? If so, what would you like to be called?

My middle name is Damara. I used to not like it, but I’ve gotten quite used to it, and I think I’d keep all my names! After experiencing the agony that goes into naming babies, I think it’d be pretty rotten (to one’s parents) to go and change your name…

Soup
If you were a fashion designer, which fabrics, colors, and styles would you probably use the most?

If I were a fashion designer, it’d have to be for baby, toddler, and children’s clothing. That’s one of my favorite things to do anyway! I’d lean heavily towards the vintage (as in 30s-early 60s) mixed with some more modern prints and styles. I would not use synthetic fabrics, that’s for sure!

Salad
What is your least favorite chore, and why?

Is it a bad sign to not have a favorite chore? I do love to make the bed, but it has to be done just so, or I’d rather not make it. In fact, one time I came home, and freaked out because my bed was made, and knew that I did not make it. When I say freaked out, that may be putting it a tad mildly. In reality, I saw the bed, grabbed the phone and called Dan to see if he had been home and made the bed. He hadn’t. So I called my grandma who lives nearby to see if she had been over. She hadn’t. I knew it couldn’t be my mom, because I had been out with her. So, I did what any logical seven-month pregnant woman would do, and I got out the gun, went to my neighbor’s house (he’s a sheriff’s deputy) and asked him to come check out my house, “Because I knew someone had been in there”. He asked me how I knew, and I told him because my bed had been made by someone other than me. He had the nerve to give me a strange look and ask me to stop waving the gun around and go stand by the door while he checked out the house. He found no one, and went home. Just about then, my mom called. She had stopped by my husband’s office, and had heard that I was freaking out over my bed being made, and called me to tell me that when she came to pick me up, and while I was in the bathroom, she had made my bed for me! That evening, when we went for a walk, we saw the neighbor again, I thanked him for dealing with my hysteria and he asked if I figured out what happened. When I told him that my mom had made the bed, he said “Yeah, usually criminals don’t make beds”.

Main Course
What is something that really frightens you, and can you trace it back to an event in your life?

I’m scared of earthquakes. But I don’t think that resulted from anything in particular in my childhood. Actually, I hate this kind of question.

Dessert
Where are you sitting right now? Name 3 things you can see at this moment.

On a clifftop in Ireland, overlooking the sea. Okay, not really. I’m sitting in my computer chair, in my sewing room/office, typing on the computer, where’d you think?

I can see my keyboard, my one year old, an abacus, a Curious George book, about a million yards of fabric, a plastic pink pig, a miniature dachshund named Frances – oh three. Never mind the last few then. But what I can smell, that’s another story. And now I know what I’ll be doing when I get done here – changing a diaper, that’s what.

5 thoughts on “Friday’s Feast

  1. I love the pictures of your house. I thought that your response abouthte cliff in Ireland was very funny since I am usually (in my head, while I write) in a cottage on a windswept cliff in Wales!

    Great feast.

  2. I loved your feast, especially since with my salad I too thought it said just “favorite” and not “least favorite chore”! But believe it or not, I DO have a favorite—which is just wrong, LOL!!! It’s vacuuming. I’d come and vacuum anyone’s floor if they would just come and do my dishes!!!

    And after I was done writing out my feast, I had the same smells and items to attend to!!! :-S

  3. Great feast! I’m particular about my bed too, although as long as it’s made I dont mind who’s done it. I won’t get in it though unless it is made. My man thinks I’m a bit weird like that. Haha. 🙂

Leave a Reply

