Kinsleyism :: I love me!

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

We’re in the process of an ever growing bathroom remodel (pictures of that mess to come). The medicine cabinet was sitting on the floor last Sunday evening and Kinsley had been entertaining herself in front of the mirror for a minute or two when I heard her say “I love me!”. I looked at her, and she was tilting her head and looking fondly into her own eyes. No problem with her self esteem!

:: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: ::

On Friday I asked her if she wanted to help Mama make dinner for Papa.

“No – Papa just ‘pank Kinsley” Kinsley declared.

“Just be sweet and then Papa won’t have to spank Kinsley.” I advised.

“No, Kinsley just be naughty. Kinsley likes to be naughty.” Oh help us all!

:: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: ::

Turns out Kinsley threw the first fit of the evening shortly after that. She thought it was truly unfair and inconsiderate of me to try to get her out of the bathtub. I threatened her with a spanking if she didn’t stop fussing, and she got very quiet and looked at me. Then she announced,

“Kinsley just mad, Mama. Really mad.”

:: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: ::

She’s been into telling a really good story lately. It’s even more interesting if it involves emotions which she can identify. Like yesterday when we were driving to my parent’s (Marme and Grandad’s) house, she told me that Grandad got “real mad, and then he fell and got a sore on his nose and it hurt really bad and then he cried and cried and cried”. When we got to Grandad’s office, I checked out his nose, but it looked fine to me.

:: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: ::

This morning when Dan was getting ready to go to work, I told him that there was a bowl of spaghetti in the fridge for lunch. We continued to discuss the bathroom project for a minute, when Kinsley came into the living room with the bowl of spaghetti. She had gotten it out of the fridge herself! She handed it to Dan and said,

“Here’s your noodles, Papa. Oh – I’d better cook ’em a little bit.” She took the bowl back from Dan and carried them to her play kitchen. As we watched, she tried to fit them into the toy microwave, but they wouldn’t fit, so she set them on the burner for a few seconds before bringing the bowl back to Dan and saying, “Be cayfull, Papa, the noodles so hot. Oh! Need a fork? Oh…” and she ran back to her kitchen and brought Dan a plastic (toy) spatula. “Here, Papa – fork!” Dan showed Kinsley the silver fork from his lunch bag.

“See, Papa has a fork already” he explained. He kissed all his girls and headed out the door. Kinsley followed him to the door, and with the spatula in her outstretched fist, sge hollered,

“Papa! Need Kinsley fork! Need it bad!”

So Dan has a small plastic spatula to eat his spaghetti with today.

:: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: :: ::

She’s not even two – what are we going to do?

2 thoughts on “Kinsleyism :: I love me!

  1. You are certainly going to have your hands full with that one!

    I love how you are keeping track of all the cute, fun, interesting things she says and does. I wish I had with my kids.

Leave a Reply

