Friday’s Feast

Appetizer
What does the color pink make you think of?

Things feminine and vintage. Sweet and gentle little girls. Delicate and ladylike women. All the things I want for my tiny daughters.

Soup
Name something you thought you had lost, but later found.

Perhaps this is a bit of a stretch, but when I was 16 and madly in love with my husband (before he was my husband) he lived in another state. I laid eyes on him one Sunday when he visited our church. I could never put him out of my mind after that. Then lo and behold he moved to a nearby town two years later. Then I thought I had found him.

But then I learned that he in a long distance relationship with another woman and figured I had lost him. I thought it was pretty much hopeless due to that fact that I was 15 years his junior, and she was only five years younger than he. As it turned out, the relationship had dwindled and most likely been doomed from the start. So I thought I had found him again.

But then because his relationship hadn’t worked out, he was unsure of where to go from there and decided to move pretty much for the change of it all. He has a master’s in entomology and jobs in that field are few and far between where we currently live. So he sent job applications out all over the world and planned to move wherever looked the most interesting. Then I was sure I’d lost him. I learned that he did this on a Sunday evening. That night I dreamed that he was offered a job here in our tiny town (1600 people). It was such a strange dream because it was absolutely impossible. The following night (Monday) I learned that my dad’s office manager had cut back on his hours and that my dad had offered Dan (my future husband) a job as Office Manager in the family business (now would be a good time to mention that my dad didn’t exactly know that I was madly in love with Dan). And Dan accepted. And then I knew I’d found him! We began our courtship that June and were married that October. And – he’s as perfect as I had first imagined!

Salad
In 3 words, describe this past week.

Crazy, Insane, Whirlwind.

Main Course
What are you obsessed with?

Sewing. Vintage things. Organizational tools and lists *this does not transfer into actual organization though.

Dessert
What kind of perfume or cologne do you like to wear?

Lavender is my everyday smell. Right now my body spray is Fig and Lavender. My special occasion perfume is Tommy Girl.

2 thoughts on “Friday’s Feast

  1. Feminine and vintage … I like the combination.

    What a heartwarming soup. Thank you for sharing your wonderful love story. I’m glad you found each other.

    Take care!

Leave a Reply

