Homemaking Meme

I thought this was a fun and unusaul meme from Sallie

Aprons – Yes or No? If Yes, what does your favorite look like?
I love aprons – esp. vintage ones. My favorite apron of the moment is a blue calico.

Baking – Favorite thing to bake
Artisan breads.

Clothesline – Yes or No?
YES!!! I love my clothesline, though in the summer it’s hard to use it because babies and mosquitos don’t mix with very good results.

Donuts – Have you ever made them?
No, but I do plan to thanks to Anna.

Every day – One homemaking thing you do every day
Make a heart breakfast and pack my husband’s lunch.

Freezer – Do you have a separate deep freeze?
Yes. We got a really good deal on a new (used) one.

Garbage Disposal – Yes or No?
Nope. Couldn’t trust myself with the things. Bad past experiences.

Handbook – What is your favorite homemaking resource?
Home Comforts : The Art and Science of Keeping House by Cheryl Mendelson.

Ironing – Love it or hate it? Or hate it but love the results?
I love it, but I always make myself wait to iron until the closet is clean. So it almost never gets doneexcept on emergency basis.

Junk drawer – Yes or No? Where is it?
Multiple ones, which used to not be junk drawers.

Kitchen – Color and decorating scheme
Robins Egg Blue walls with authentic to the house retro metal cabinets (which I love!) and black and white tile floor.

Love – What is your favorite part of homemaking?
The Ideal… I love to imagine what my house *could* be like.

Mop – Yes or No?
Yes – but I have yet to find the “perfect” mop

Nylons – Wash by hand or in the washing machine?
By hand.

Oven – Do you use the window or open the oven to check?
I can’t help but open the door to take a peek!

Pizza – What do you put on yours?
If I can get sausage and extra cheese, I’m happy. Dan likes peperoni and olives – and Kinsley hates all processed meats, so pizza can be difficult.

Quiet – What do you do during the day when you get a quiet moment?
I read eMails, and usually call Dan and check my favorite blogs.

Recipe card box – Yes or No? What does it look like?
No, but I intend to get one…

Style of house – What style is your house?
A fifties cottage. On the rundown side though.

Tablecloths and napkins – Yes or No?
Yes. Vintage if possible.

Under the kitchen sink – Organized or toxic wasteland?
An organized toxic wasteland… Depends on which door you open!

Vacuum – How many times per week?
Sometimes not even once… I have all hard floors.

Wash – How many loads of laundry do you do per week?
A lot! 10?

X’s – Do you keep a daily list of things to do that you cross off?
Definitely! I am a compulsive list maker.

Yard – Yes or No? Who does what?
It’s very run down. The house was vacant for 12 years, and the yard has had no major work since the 50s. There are so many large trees and lilac bushes that it’s too shady for grass. We’re working on it. DH does most everything.

Zzz’s – What is your last homemaking task for the day before going to bed?
Does nursing count?

Leave a Reply

